Broken!

Image

Dublin!

What is the thing that “broke” my brain the most this last month? I’m not quite sure my brain was…broken. My mind was definitely blown, I’ll say that much. But, the thing that was closest to breaking my brain was the time limit. Within the first few days, while touring and exploring Armagh, we had to have an idea set for our play. After the first weekend, a draft. By the end of the week, a finalized draft. Then rehearsals, then the John Hewitt and 2 days from now our performances. When I signed up for this trip, I don’t think I fully understood how fast we would be moving until we were actually moving that fast.

Now, I’m not saying that was a bad thing at all. In fact, looking back on the past 3 1/2 weeks, I’m really proud of myself. I never thought that I would be able to pump something like “All Roads Lead to Belfast” in a week.

Now, as for the mind blowing aspect of everything…my mind is blown by everything. I’m amazed that we’re already talking about packing, and flights home. I can’t believe the number of people we’ve talked to, and the stories we’ve heard from people like Martin Lynch! The fact alone that we were able to have lunch with him is fantastic! He was so funny, and so personable. I’m so grateful for the kindness that the entire John Hewitt Society has shown to us this past week. They’ve been so tolerant of us, our constant questions, and the begging for tickets to other shows! The speakers, poetry, and shows in only the past TWO days has been….mind blowing!

To further all of this, John (he runs the hostel), made all of us Indian food tonight. He was concerned for our health, and how much “junk” we’ve been ingesting since we’ve been here (Uhm…we’re college students…this is normal). But, it was an incredibly nice gesture, and he did NOT have to do that, but he did. I’m amazed by how welcoming he has been. 🙂

I am so grateful and happy to have gone on this trip, especially with the impressive group of people I’ve been with for the past month!

