Process and Crisis.

I’m not very experienced with writing plays.  Usually when I’m new to something I look for the example of others who know better than I do and follow suit as if my life depends on it.  The thing with this program, however, is that while we have structure and assignments, we have total freedom when it comes to subject matter and voice.  So it wasn’t enough that I had homework when I didn’t know what my homework was about.  I’m beginning to learn how to make better creative decisions for myself and, more importantly, how to be confident in those decisions.  I’m learning not to worry about whether ornot what I’m doing is right or wrong, but how to define right and wrong for myself.  A wrote that I was feeling conident about my plot an ideas a few posts ago.  Well, a few days later I suddenly felt that my subject matter was insufficient.  I scrapped the plot and kept a few concepts that I had been dwelling on.  I recycled those ideas ino a new play, a draft of which I banged out within an hour one evening, fuled by desperation to break even with the chance I took.  There was no process- no outline, no notes.  I felt fully committed to what I wanted to do and with the support of colleagues and the caution of my professors I made something that I’m really proud of.  I am not a risk-taker by nature.  Considering a risk is a risk for me.  But after that weird 180 I did I’ve learned that careful cutivation- which invaluable- does not always work.

Oh and here’s a crappy cartoon I drew about the revision process:

Image

Image

Image

