Independence Day Abroad

Enjoying our 4th of July Celebration 🙂

When it comes to the 4th of July, I’ve never had a set tradition aside from cooking on the grill. We went through a period of time where we lost a lot of family members at once, and we normally refer to days before then as the “good old days”. All of that loss has made my small family that much closer in the past few years. Last year we went to the Harbor to see the fireworks display they put on every year.

For the most part, I have always seen the 4th of July (and every other major Holiday) as a family day. I want to be with my parents and sisters, and that’s what I do. I also see the significance of the day. I am very proud to be an American, and very grateful to have the rights that I do. I understand that it’s not perfect, and that our government is not perfect and yes there is still discrimination on more levels than just race and gender. But, I am in a country where I can speak my mind and have an opinion. I can work, go to school, drive a car, speak my mind and that is something many women in other countries cannot do. Don’t get me wrong, I’ll be as vocal as the next person about what my problem is with the U.S., but in the U.S. I can be vocal – and to me, that means a lot. I’m pretty freakin’ talk-a-tive. 😉

Now, today even though I’m not with my family and I’m not seeing fireworks, I can’t be happier with my surroundings. I’ve made new friends that are great company (and I seriously mean that – these crazy people are hilarious and I know fun times are ahead), and I’m in this beautiful country celebrating the 4th of July. I can’t think of anything better.

