Freedom Ring

I like celebrating the Fourth of July, sure.  Not because I’m patriotic (I’m not), but because any holiday usualy promises a large meal (which I like).  I’ve never assigned much importance to being an American but independence is a trait I desire.  I used to think of myself as independent- as someone who thought and did things for themselves.  But now that I’m ont he brink of true adulthood I’m realizin just how depenen I am, living with and being supported by my parents, still jobless, and becoming increasinly apprehensive about new things.  I hope to one day be truly independent- as a person and not a country- soon, and until then, I am truly thankful for all those tthat I depen upon, which includes my family and friends.  Without them I would truly be lost, and I know they can teach me to be free.

