Hope Sinks

Hope is something that I’ve never really thought much about. According to Wikipedia, the most reliable of sources, hope is “the emotional state which promotes the belief in a positive outcome related to events and circumstances in one’s life. Despair is the opposite of hope.” Now despair is something I am very familiar but hope? Not so much.

I understand the concept of hope but I feel that if you constantly have your dreams crushed your going to eventually lose hope…not that that’s happened to me. Things like hope and faith, I’m not necessarily sure if they have a place in the modern world. Sometimes you just have to accept the reality of your situation and deal with it.

On the other hand, hope can be a valuable weapon for a person in a truly desperate situation. The theme of the John Hewitt festival is hope and I’m having a difficult time coming up with an idea that ties into that. I can so that I have utilized hope before a couple years ago when I was in a pretty bad situation. Sometimes, when you’ve lost everything hope is the one thing that nobody can take from you.

 

 

