Armagh- Day 1

First off, I’d like to thank everyone from UB for being so welcoming and generally awesome. I was a bit skeptical about being “The Californian” on the trip, but from the moment I arrived you’ve all been nothing short of amazingly well-hearted fantastic people. Thanks.

Image

This is what they expected, I’m sure.

This is what I left in Los Angeles:

Image

This is what I left it for:

Image

So far, I think it’s a fair trade.

After a four-hour journey from California to Toronto, and another seven hour flight (featuring an extremely talkative iPhone programmer from Washington, D.C. seated next to me), I finally arrived in Dublin. I got lost for a bit in the airport, but eventually caught up with Terri and the rest of the Armagh Project folks, and we were on our way to the Youth Hostel in Armagh.

The Hostel itself is modest, but in an inviting way. The backyard features a garden, and a chicken coup. We want to name them. If you have suggestions, comment below.

We were all a bit shocked to find we don’t get Wi-Fi in our rooms, but hey- more time for writing, less time for Facebook statuses.

Image

“You’ll need more than prayer to save you if you don’t close that browser window, boy.”

I think the entire group was up for thirty hours straight yesterday. It got to the point where we were all sitting in the Hostel, wondering if we were actually going to make it past the first day. We tried everything: talking, YouTube clips, music, anything to keep us alert. Call me crazy, but I think being that tired actually helped everyone break the ice easier. At least, it did for me. By the time I got to the airport, I was so exhausted I could have been wearing lingerie, I just wanted a damn bed. But in our collected exhaustion, people seemed more honest and direct with one another. We got past social norms and trying to impress each other and just tried talking. One of the things I regret about living in Los Angeles is the lack of conversation. Yesterday’s experience was a warm reminder that dialogue still exists between people, even if it means having to put away your cell phone for a day and fighting off mind and body to stay awake.

Armagh itself is a gorgeous, quirky town. It’s as campy as it is breathtaking. I look forward to working with everyone in it.

 Image

